About the Awards

The Dartmouth Book Awards honour Nova Scotia literature and recognize the valuable contribution writers make to our cultural heritage. Two prizes valued at $2,500.00 each are awarded in the categories of: fiction and non-fiction. A third $2,500.00 prize is awarded to the author from Atlantic Canada whose first book of fiction or non-fiction has been published. The Dartmouth Book and Writing Awards for fiction and non-fiction were established in 1988 with the financial support of corporations and citizens interested in the province's artistic life. The intent was to honour authors of Nova Scotia fiction and non-fiction and to encourage writers embarking on their careers. In 2003 the third award, the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award was launched. The awards are administered by a steering committee composed of representatives from the Halifax Regional Libraries, the Halifax Regional Municipality and members of the community. The Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award for fiction is sponsored by Boyne Clarke Barristers and Solicitors. The Dartmouth Book Award for non-fiction in memory of Robbie Robertson is presented by the Kiwanis Club of Dartmouth. The Margaret and John Savage First Book Award is sponsored by Collins Barrow Chartered Accountants, Weedman, the Savage family and Heritage House Law Office.